Brief History
PDF version


The Department of Pharmaceutics and Pharmacy Practice was conceived as a section within the Department of Pharmacy in the Faculty of Medicine in 1974 with one lecturer and a tutorial fellow. The Department became a fully fledged Department when the School of Pharmacy attained Faculty status in July 1995 under the constitute the College of Health Sciences of the University of Nairobi.

The first Chairman of the Department was Prof. G.O. Kokwaro, the department was later Chaired by Dr. D.S. Karanja as the second Chair, then by Prof. K.A.M. Kuria as the third Chair.  The fourth Chairman is Dr. Shital M. Maru who is currently serving her second term.

The Department currently has 12 academic staff members consisting of one (1) Professor, one (1) Associate Professor, seven (7) Lecturers and three (3) Tutorial fellows.

The department is committed to ensuring that the students, both undergraduate and post graduate, have the requisite skills for professional practice. In this endeavour, undergraduates are introduced to aspects of Pharmacy Law and Ethics, Pharmacy Management and Social and Behavioural Pharmacy. This, we believe, helps churn out well rounded graduates.

The Department has been in the forefront in creating more opportunities for post graduate training. In this respect, the MPharm Clinical Pharmacy course was developed in response to the ever dynamic practice of hospital pharmacy. This course trains Pharmacists to be more patient care oriented and integrates them into the in-patient healthcare team.

More recently, the Department has also introduced the MPharm Industrial Pharmacy course which is meant to train specialists in the field of Drug Discovery and Manufacturing. The first group of graduate student are currently in their first year of training.

Opportunities for PhD study are also offered in the field of Clinical Pharmacy and Pharmaceutics.

Members of staff in the department participate actively in research.